entitled to be creative

streich1

We have winter vacation. It is time to be home, time to read, to range and rearrange, to realize a few renovation-projects, and time to relax and to retreat.
For me, the holidays we spend home are always an invitation to make things which I cannot do during schooldays.
For me, vacation in general is not about long sleeps and lying around, it is much more a time to be active, to listen to inspiration, to do something around home, in the garden or for myself.

Time spent creatively always fulfills me.
I totally blossom when I can do and make things in my own rhythm and at my “gusto”.
I then feel just as pure life is running through my veins; I feel lively and full of joy and gratitude, alhamdulillah.
After a day spent with at least one creative endeavor, I feel blessed and satisfied.
change

Being creative and making things does not necessarily mean to make “arts”. For me, the making of something and being creative can also be the cleaning of a long forgotten corner, redesigning an outworn skirt, capturing photos of everyday beauty, baking a fancy cake with a self-invented frosting out of fridge-leftovers, giving myself a new haircut, painting meaningful quotes in beautiful letters on old cardboard, restoring an old chair, planting flowers, …, and following  the flow of ideas by improving and beautyfying life in every possible way.

Being creative is like pouring out the beauty of our soul. It can be totally an act of worship and is often guided by divine inspiration. Maybe that’s why, beside the fact of having made something out of our time, it is so deeply enriching.

id-kuchen3you-can-do-it kaffe1

Along with the vast inspiration that can be found online, but also in our own soul (through the listening to our inner voice and intuition), there are many books that inspire and evoke creativity.
I’ve recently read and liked those:

  • Elisabeth Gilbert “Big Magic: Creative living beyond fear”
  • Sark “Succulent wild Women”
  • Jane Alexander “Spirit of the Home”
  • Amanda Blake Soule, all books
  • Elaine St.James “Living the simple life”
  • Martina Goernemann “Zuhause ist ein Gefühl”
  • John Seymour „The self sufficient life“

“Do you have the courage to bring forth the treasures that are hidden within you?”  asks one of them –
Yes I do, inchaallah.
What about you?

Wishing you a creative and fulfilled February! Peace and light, xoxo

 

4 thoughts on “entitled to be creative

  1. Jaa..so schön geschrieben “Being creative is like pouring out the beauty of our soul” ..wenn man zuhause arbeitet ist das irgendwie noch größer die Herausforderung Zeit für sich und seine Seele zu fnden;). Kann man die Bücher auch über den Kindle lesen? Liebe Grüße!
    Sarah

  2. Barakalawfiki pour toutes ces belles références de livre, c’ est très motivant. Qu’Allah azawajel te préserve ainsi sur les tiens. C’ est toujours un très grand plaisir de te lire.

  3. I love to have this free space and enough time on my own to create – cooking, reading, journaling, writing and even making plans, creating inspiration boards.
    Thank you for sharing your views on the subject Itto – always inspiring. Thanks for the books too.
    Have a lovely winter break.

Leave your thoughts!

