simply breakfast and a story to reflect on…

“Once the Prophet Muhammad (sas) was sitting with his companions, and one person used insulting words against his friend Abu Bakr, causing him pain. But Abu Bakr remained silent.

The person again used bitter words against him and still Abu Bakr did not respond.

The third time when this ignorant person hurt Abu Bakr with his tongue, Abu Bakr tried answering back.
At this point the Prophet (sas) got up. Abu Bakr asked him “Are you displeased with me?”

The Prophet (sas) replied: “No, but when you remind silent, an angel came down from the heavens responding to this man’s talk. But the moment you started replying to that man, the angel went away and the devil sat down. And I cannot sit where the devil is sitting.”

(Narrated by Abu Dawud)

 

Wishing you a peaceful, harmonious, blessed Friday and weekend!

 

 

10 thoughts on “simply breakfast and a story to reflect on…

  1. Salam Alaykoum Itto
    Thank you very much for this story to reflect on, and I must say on that we have the perfect religion ! AlHamdulillah
    Blessed Friday and week-end tou you and your family !
    Cyrielle

  2. Bit of a random point here but your photo got me thinking – I see that Moroccan cuisine uses a lot of white flour, rather unhealthy from what I hear. I’m very surprised at this as the other dishes are fresh and cooked from scratch with little or no processed ingredients. I really would have thought the Moroccan breads would be more along the unprocessed wholemeal flour types???

  3. There’s whole wheat, semi, and white bread in every bakery and all types of flour in every shop in Morocco. Just depends on what you’re in the mood for, much like everywhere else in the world.

    The Hadith is beautiful. Thanks very much for the reminder, Itto.

  4. Assalam alaikum, Itto thank you for this lovely hadith, I have never heard it before and it has acted as a wonderful reminder for me and really made me think and consider my actions. May Allah SWT reward you and guide us all!

  5. Alsalaamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu and Ramadan Mubarak. Thank you for the nice islamic reminder and the luscious looking pic including mahraaash. Some days I miss the bread and the small statured, but huge souled, berber man who insisted dinner not start until I was seated next to him at the round table and my bread was waiting, til we had out bottle of Fanta Ananas. May Allah bless him and grant him Jannah. Ameen. Thank you for the memory spark!!

  6. Pingback: on Love and Hate | Itto's Living Faith

Leave your thoughts!

