turning inside

 
 
 

These days I turn inside – Not only because the days get shorter and cooler with the colder season to come – I also turn inside myself. My mind holds still, reflects, thinks and tries to put some thoughts into order.

 

I think about this life. About our purpose, about why we are here and for what we strive. I see that I have to correct my intentions. I see that my thoughts often (unconsciously) are much influenced by our consumerist age: believing that we deserve a perfect, good, happy and healthy life.

But suddenly I feel that I have to focus more on the true meaning of our life on this earth. I have to remind myself of our final destination.
I have to stop and to pause. I have to switch my focus from dunya (this worldly life) to akhira (the hereafter).
I have to remember that we are not here to expect a perfect life without difficulties, pain, lost and sadness. We are not here to wait that life showers us with everything we yearn for. We are not here to wait that all our wishes come true and everything goes smooth. We are not here to expect that life offers us all we hope for.
We are NOT here to expect paradise on this earth.
No.
We are here to be tested.
We should try to act in our most perfect way despite all difficulties and struggles.
We are here to be grateful for what we have and what we got, may it be little or big, may it seem good or bad.
We are here to better ourselves with every mundane act.
We are here only to prove, despite all the struggles, that we deserve Allah’s mercy (by worship and good deeds).

We are here to strive for paradise AFTER death.
I have to change my point of view.
I have to remind my soul that this life isn’t about striving for material goods or about waiting for a perfect everyday-life. I have to remember that every problem we face (at home, at work, in our marriage or with our children, concerning health or material wealth), if welcomed with patience and an “Alhamdulillah” instead of an angry “sh…”, might lead us in the end to something much better.
I have to remind my self that every calamity we face with strength and patience, and everything good we do for the sake of Allah, will be our bonus on the day of judgement.

I remember that it is said that Allah tests those most, which He loves most.
Instead of getting disappointed about trials, I have to remind myself that, if I try to see every test as a blessing, these tests become a gift and a chance, a promise of mercy, a source of hope and a way to hopefully gain His pleasure, inchaallah.

 

“Know that the life in this world is only play and amusement, pomp and mutual boasting among you, and rivalry in respect of wealth and children. […]” (The holy Qur’an, 57/20)

 

“Do you think that you will enterParadisebefore Allah tests those of you who fought and also tests those who are the patient?” (The holy Qur’an, 3/142) 

 

“And I (Allah) created not the jinn and mankind except that they should worship Me alone” (The holy Qur’an, 51/56) 

 

11 thoughts on “turning inside

  1. Salamou alaykom dear Itto, jazakillahi for this remind. May Allah give us strong faith and patience. May Allah put barakah on you and your family and help you in your projects. Amine
    Naima.

  2. AsSalamAlaykoum Itto
    Thank you for this precious and so true remind.
    I had to improve myself, I realize that I’m so weak. May Allah bless you and your family, and give us strengh, faith ans patience, as Naïma said. Amine
    Khadija

  3. Salâm Aleykoem wa Rahmatoellâh Itto,

    Beautifully written, mashaAllâh! Thank you so much for sharing your insights. May Allâh let you grow even more and may He bestow you with khayr in this life and the next. Bousa for the children. Oem ‘Îsa wa Hawâ’ wa Maimoonah

  4. salaam alaikum,
    since the end of ramadan this perfectly reflects my state and experience.
    sometimes i feel surviving the day with hope and faith is my spiritual practice! may Allah grant us His favors for our trials and tests in this life..may we do His work on earth in a way befitting the Almighty Creator.
    enshallah!

  5. Assalamu Alaikum Ukhti Itto,

    I have been visiting your blog for sometime and it always inspires me on some level but I have never commented until now. I was moved by this piece and also feel as though this was written just for me😉 Jazakilallahu khair for this beautiful reminder and for letting us glimpse into your world (and heart). Please keep us in your du’aa.

    Peace,
    Cinta.

  6. Ich musste ein paar mal herkommen, denn für so einen schönen Text brauche ich Ruhe, Ruhe um ihn wirklich zu “lesen”.. ich kann deine Gedanken so gut “verstehen” und ich denke dieses “in sich kehren”, das Erinnern an den wahren Grund des Lebens, ist so wichtig, mir fällt es “hier” manchmal ziemlich schwer… der Alltag in der Großstadt, die viele Arbeit, die Termine..da wünsche ich mich manchmal nach Marokko …aufs Land, wo man noch in “Ruhe” leben kann und das in sich kehren einem etwas leichter gemacht wird;)
    Ich danke dir für diesen schönen und wichtigen Beitrag, erinnernde Worte..wie Balsam;) yazakiallahu khair.
    JenMuna

  7. As-salaamu ‘alaykum wa rahmatullah wa barakaatuh

    Masha Allah just beautiful. Thank you for sharing this precious reminder. Alhamdulillah this was just PERFECT for this day. Jazaaki Allah khayran.

    Your sister in faith

    Iiris

Leave your thoughts!

