Incha’Allah

  
  

“Inchaallah” (= if God wants it to happen, God willing, if it is God’s will) is maybe one of the most used words among Muslims and if you come to Morocco you might hear it a hundred times a day…
Some people might be annoyed by hearing it or taking it as a sign of unreliability or lack of seriousness. But let me try to explain its use: we use it because we know that everything lies in Allah’s hands. Because we know that Allah is the best of all planners: Because we know so little and because Allah simply knows all.

We say “inchaallah” in nearly every sentence, we use it in nearly every communication, at least when it comes to say “good-bye until next time” – because who knows if we will meet again in this life? Who knows what might happen next? Who knows if all my perfectly made plans will succeed? Who knows if the weather will still be nice the next day? Who knows if we will be still in good health? Who knows if the bus will come at time? Who knows if I will be able to realize all the things I intended to? Who knows what will be the next day, the next hour, the next minute? – Only God knows – Allah, the Almighty.

That’s why we use the word “inchaallah” so often, showing our submission to Him, asking for His permission to make things happen – and every time we say it, we mean it from the bottom of our hearts, because we completely know that we depend on Him alone, because we know that He already made the best of all plans, because we know that not the slightest of things will happen without His will.  

« And never say of anything, ‘I shall do such and such thing tomorrow. Except (with the saying): ‘If God wills!’ And remember your Lord when you forget… »
(Sura Al Khaf 18:23,24)

 

I wish you a blissful new year 2011, full of joy, peace and health!

Until next time, inchaallah.

 

9 thoughts on “Incha’Allah

  1. salamualaikum,

    how true, barakaAllahu fiki. may Allah bless your reminder!
    ….and now i do not say inschAllah because we know that he hears us and he accept our sincere prayer/dua. good night:)

    alfarascha

  2. salam aleikoum itto,
    je suis totalement d’accord avec toi sur ce sujet..”inch allah” là où je suis les gens ne comprennent pas la signification de ce terme…pour moi, tout est incertain, tout dépend de Allah et de sa volonté…
    have a good day…
    Nora

  3. Bravo pour ton blog ! I’m fond of it !
    Thank you for this beautiful reminder. I wish you a great year too !
    Au plaisir de te lire Inch Allah

  4. Thankyou for writing this post.

    Inch’alah is one of my favourite words. It rolls out of my mouth before I know it, even though I was only in the UAE 3 years. Unfortunately it’s a little too foreign for this australian country town, and so when it automatically comes out of my mouth nobody knows what it means and they wonder what i am on about. Inchalah one day they will stop asking.

    I use this word even though I am not muslim. Neither am I christian or hindu, buddhist or of any other religion. I am all of the above and none of the above.

    I love the sound and the feel of the word, and the sense of offering life up to the fates, whether they be god’s fates or some other fates. I love how this word for me means not getting too wound up in things we can’t control. For me there is a lightness about it.

    Inch’allah this beautiful word will continue to roll of my tongue!

  5. Pingback: Soviel Restwolle [so much small wool pieces] « Alfarascha's Blog

  6. Pingback: Soviel Restwolle [So many small pieces of wool] « JenMun(a)

Leave your thoughts!

