Style Files of a Muslimah

  

It’s been a long time I wanted to write about one of the most contradictory discussed topics concerning Muslim women: the head cover or veil, called « hijab ». And I feel as if now is the right moment to do so.
A few months ago I discovered a new love on how to wear my hijab, it’s a classical style called “khimar”, and I absolutely wanted to share this love with you. It’s the most practical and pure style of covering and to me it unifies my ideals of chastity and femininity. It reminds me of pure womanhood just as the elegant ladies of ancient times like the mothers of the believers, or the biblical Mary and nuns.
I know that many of my readers are non-Muslims, alhamdulillah, so this may sound strange to you and some already asked why I decided to cover my hair, why Muslim women in general wear hijab.

To explain it a bit I wanna tell you my personal story, which is kind of an ongoing transformation and a free personal choice:
When I first came to Morocco on a university field trip, still being a normal Christian western girl, I didn’t know anything about Islam except the prejudices out of the European media. But when we visited the rural areas I felt the need to cover my hair with a loose scarf, simply because my feeling of respect towards the inhabitants asked for it – and I felt better, I felt more polite but also more respected myself, subhanallah.

A lot happened and changed after that first trip to Morocco and about a year later, I reverted to Islam (that’s a whole other story…), alhamdulillah! But still, the headscarf was something I just couldn’t imagine for myself except during prayer or on those visits to rural Muslim areas.
I’ve always been a very independent kind of woman and my style was always a bit garçonne, mostly about trousers and sneakers – a veil just didn’t fit in with my own sense of self.
But I grew deeper in the religion and, subhanallah, slowly my point of view changed and soon I wished myself to dress more feminine and to act and to be more like a woman.
I didn’t believe any more in the picture of a woman who has to manage all without men’s help to become partly masculine herself to succeed in life.

I slowly embraced the Islamic view on womanhood and I began to see the good in gender separation and the divided duties between men and women. I began to acknowledge the God given different bodies, minds and strengths women and men have. I wanted myself fully fit in my role as a mother, wife and sister in Islam and I wanted to please my husband only and not attracting other men.
The more I learned about Islam and the stronger my faith became alhamdulillah, the more I felt the wish to be part of that “ummah” (the whole Muslim community).

Still living in Germany, I saw veiled women on the street and my heart yearned to be one of them. I wished they could recognize me as a sister in faith so we could give us greetings of peace; I wished I could tell them how beautiful they are in their modesty. But I was too shy and I feared rejection from family, friends and the German environment. (By the way I personally do not know any woman who is forced to wear a head scarf, but I know many sisters who would love to wear it but either aren’t allowed to or fear public rejection).

So when we finally made our Hijrah to Morocco, alhamdulillah, I felt so happy and relieved and decided to begin to wear the head scarf. First I just wore it occasionally and very loosely wrapped around the head. It felt strange and as if everybody would steer at me. Leaving the house first made me feel scared, but little by little my natural innate feeling of shame and modesty came back and soon I tried different binding techniques: shawls, Amira-style, squared scarves, etc.
I felt more confident and comfortable wearing loose clothes and covering my hair. I felt free from the burden of having to have the newest hair style or the sexiest hips. I felt free from being judged by my weight, shapes and fashion style.
And the longer I wore hijab the more I felt the need to cover myself properly. Whereas before it felt already too much to me wearing three-quarter-length sleeves, I soon wanted to wear long sleeves only…

Today I prefer wearing feminine long skirts over my pants and wide tuniqes, I prefer to cover my hair entirely and I feel already naked when my arms are seen… Modesty develops in stages and I don’t know where my personal evolution will lead me to, but I know now that hijab is not only about covering the body shapes, it is about natural shame, about respect towards one’s self and others and it is also about modest behaviour and speech… – in the end it is like becoming a beautiful pearl in a sea shell, hidden to the public but shining in its home.

So yes, you see, I simply love to wear my new sewn khimars. They are so easy to simply be pulled over the house garments, they match over all and cover entirely, without fixing, no safety pins, no slipping.
I made them in different lengths, some for working and playing outside, some shorter for hikes and longer for the city.
I used soft lightweight elastic cotton fabric (or viscose) which is perfect because it falls so smooth; it cools in summer and fits so well around the head, alhamdulillah. The basic pattern is sewn out of a simple rectangle (about 200 x 300 cm), the longer side hemmed at the edges, then folded on half, sewn together by keeping the head part open and the trimmed in form (see the sketches). If you need further information on the sewing process, please ask.

Wherever you are and whatever you believe, I wish you comfort in your body and a healthy sense of pride, self-respect and natural shame.
Blessed Friday and a most beautiful first-July-summer-weekend friends!

 

17 thoughts on “Style Files of a Muslimah

  1. Liebe Itto,
    wie Du Dir vorstellen kannst, interessiert uns western girls dieses Thema natürlich besonders und ich bin froh, dass Du Deinen Weg zur Hijab hier so detailliert beschrieben hast. Deine Beweggründe zu kennen macht es für mich leichter, Deinen Weg zu verstehen.
    Ich kann Deine Gefühle einer natürlichen Scham gut nachvollziehen. Seit ich Deinen Blog lese, ist mir manchmal ein Perspektivwechsel gelungen, der sehr bereichernd ist. Ich sehe die verhüllten Frauen und Mädchen hier nun auch mit anderen Augen und sehe auch die unterschiedliche Interpretation der Hijab (farblich abgestimmt auf die Kleidung, mit Perlen bestickt). Und ich kann es nachvollziehen, wenn man sich selbst mit dreiviertel Ärmeln nackt fühlt.

    Aber: Bei uns herrschen im Moment tropische Temperaturen und ich bin so froh, luftige Kleidung tragen zu können und die Sonne auf meinen Armen zu spüren. Bei dieser Hitze tun mir die Frauen leid, die ganz verhüllt sind und dicke Mäntel tragen. Eine Lösung ist hier Dein Viscose-Khimar.

    Du brauchst auch gar keine figurbetonten Klamotten, Deine Augen strahlen so schön, da srüht die Lebensfreude. Mehr braucht es nicht.

    Ganz liebe Grüße
    Deine Steffi

  2. Itto,

    Je suis heureuse que tu parles du hijab et de tes premiers sentiments.
    En fait je ne sais jamais trop comment me comporter lorsque nous venons au Maroc (et oui toujours cette peur de mal faire) il m’est souvent arrivé de vouloir me couvrir les cheveux, mais j’ai toujours eu le sentiment que comme je ne suis pas musulmane on pourrait mal interpréter mon geste, je ne voudrais pas qu’on croit que je me “déguise”

    Je trouve ton cheminement très interressant, merci de le partager avec nous et merci de nous éclairer (nous les non musulmanes)

    J’aime beaucoup l’image de la perle dans sa coquille et je te trouve très belle et rayonnante.

    Beau week end

  3. MashAllah! Simply beautiful.
    I’ve gone through a lot of changes with my hijab as well, and right now i find myself dressing similarly to what i see in the picture where you’re carrying the baby. To any Muslimah out there, “This is such an empowering way of dressing and covering our bodies.” Before I converted to Islam and would see Muslim women in their hijabs I longed to be one of them. They just seemed so honourable, so highly respected- by others but mainly by themselves.

  4. Asalamu Alaikum Sis,

    That’s a lovely khimar, masha Allah–and yes, looks just like some pictures we see of Biblical women! I like khimars a lot and hope to be more comfortable to wear them soon. You know Casa is a bit of a fashion center for hijab and I still have some nafs to deal with around that😦 The style I love is the same as this except a long, finished strip is sewn on centered at the forehead so that instead of wearing an underscarf you just tie the strips at the nape of your neck. It is so comfortable and offers excellent coverage. I even wear my hair loose under it and it doesn’t bother me at all.
    {{❤ }}

  5. Salam ma chère Itto,

    Merci pour ce magnifique post qui me conforte dans mes pensées, je pense aussi que la pudeur est une belle chose, qu’il est important de préserver sa beauté…Quand je croise une femme avec le voile, je ne peux m’empêcher de les envier car je sais… et à chaque fois je leur souris et elles me le rendent si bien !

    Qu’Allah te bénisse ma chère Itto

    xxx

    Sonia

  6. Liebe Itto,
    danke für die Beschreibung des Weges, den du gegangen bist. Es erklärt mir als Nicht-Muslima vieles, und es ist mir gar nicht so fremd.
    Ich war vor über zwanzig Jahren ein paar Wochen in der Türkei, die ja ein laizistisches Land sein will, was in den Städten und im touristischen Süden damals schon recht überzeugend gelang. Aber auf dem Land fühlte ich mich als westliche Frau doch sehr nackt, obwohl ich immer lange Röcke oder Hosen und Oberteile mit Dreiviertelärmeln ohne Decolleté trug. Auf einem Markt kaufte ich mir ein grosses Kopftuch, das ich dann in der Öffentlichkeit ständig trug. Mit dem Resultat, dass ich oft auf Türkisch angesprochen wurde und für eine Muslima gehalten wurde, aber das kümmerte mich nicht gross…
    Ich verstehe das mit der (natürlichen) Scham sehr gut, und auch das Bild von der Perle in ihrer Schale gefällt mir. Vermutlich würde ich mich auch heute noch/wieder bedecken, wenn ich in einem islamischen Land unterwegs wäre. Es ist für mich eine Frage des Anstandes, mich als Gast nicht auf anstössige Weise zu kleiden oder zu verhalten.
    Ich sehe, dass du den Hijab aus eigenem Antrieb tragen willst, und so finde ich das gut und in Ordnung. Aber – ist es nicht doch so, dass manche Mädchen/Frauen dazu gezwungen werden, sich zu verhüllen? Gerade, wenn sie in westlichen Ländern leben? Da habe ich dann eben schon Mühe, auch wenn ich den Vätern dieser Mädchen / Ehemännern dieser Frauen durchaus zugestehe, dass es ihnen womöglich tatsächlich darum geht, diese in ihrer weiblichen Integrität zu schützen…
    Und was ist mit der “Familienehre”, die in Frage gestellt wäre, würde sich ein weibliches Familienmitglied weigern, Kopftuch oder Hijab zu tragen?
    Ich denke, es ist für eine Konvertitin einfacher, sich für die Verhüllung zu entscheiden – weil sie ja schliesslich eine Wahl hat/te. Was ist mit denen, die in eine muslimische Familie hineingeboren werden, jedoch in einem westlichen/christlichen Land aufwachsen? Das sind schwere Konflikte, die immer mal wieder tragisch enden … für das Mädchen/die Frau.
    Ich verstehe sehr gut, wie du in dein Leben als Muslima hineingewachsen bist, und ich freue mich immer wieder über die Ernsthaftigkeit, mit der du deinen gewählten Weg gehst! Ich habe aber offene Fragen – und ich merke gerade, wie dieser Konflikt mich auch ganz persönlich umtreibt.
    Ein schönes Wochenende dir und deinen Lieben!
    Herzliche Grüsse,
    Katarina

  7. Liebe katharina,

    Vielen dank fuer deinen nachdenklichen kommentar. Ich kann deine gedanken gut nachvollziehen, denn manchmal fuehle ich diese zerrissenheit auch und es tut weh zu sehen, wenn zwang irgendwo in irgendeiner form statt findet.
    Im koran selbst steht, dass es keinen zwang im glauben gibt und darum schmerzt mich umso mehr, wenn es manchen menschen leider nicht gelingt diese religion des friedens auch friedlich vorzuleben und den gelebten glauben positiv zu vermittlen
    (islam kommt von der wortwurzel salam, welche frieden bedeutet);
    und es schmerzt mich zu sehen, dass aus glaubenspraktiken oder auch beispielsweise aus traditionen zwaenge gemacht werden, welche den naechsten generationen die religion verleiden und sie in ein schlechtes licht ruecken, denn beides ist nicht im sinne des islam.
    Darum bete ich fuer all die menschen, die unter einer zwanghaften auslegung des islam leiden und hoffe, dass wir muslime bald bessere botschafter dieser wunderbaren religion des friedens werden duerfen, inchaallah.
    Wie gesagt, ich selbst kenne keine frau persoenlich, die zum hijab gezwungen wird, aber mir ist klar, dass es das sicher gibt und dass eben vor allem diese faelle und streits um die eitle familienehre in den medien vermittelt werden.
    Ich danke dir nochmals fuer deine gedanken und wuensche dir und allen lesern eine gute friedliche woche!

  8. Katarina je comprends bien ce que tu as voullu dire.

    C’est vrai qu’en Europe les médias ont tendance à nous montrer des images de musulmans extrémistes, ce qui salie l’image de l’Islam.

    Les personnes qui n’ont pas la chance de pouvoir voyager sont alors convaincus que tous les musulmans sont tel que ceux décrit dans les médias (et dieu sait que l’on nous montre des choses horribles!)

    Pour avoir la chance d’avoir pu voyager dans plusieurs pays musulmans et d’avoir rencontré des parsonnes formidables, d’avoir pu discuter je me rend bien compte que comme partout, comme dans toutes les religions, il y a ceux qui vivent pleinement leur religion et dans le respect de leurs traditions et il y a les autres… Je pense aussi que ce ne doit pas être évident pour un musulman de trouver sa place en tant que tel dans un pays chrétien (tout comme l’inverse ne doit pas être simple non plus).

    Maintenant je suis pour la liberté de choix (qu’il s’agisse de religion ou d’autre type de choix permettant d’avancer sereinement dans la vie) et je n’approuve pas le comportement de certains musulmans à l’égard de leur femme, soeur ou fille, tout comme je n’approuve pas le comportement de certains chrétiens envers les musulmans… (et le débat qu’il y a en France actuellement sur le hijab me fait honte d’être française!)

    J’ailmerais tellment que l’on puisse trouver la paix et vivre en harmonie tous ensemble…

    Très belle journée à vous toutes

  9. Assalamualaikum dear sister!

    I just came across your blog today and read a LOT of it. I really love it mashaAllah…its so refreshing to read the beautiful thoughts of a multi tasking Muslimah mommy and busy home-maker. You write beautifully mashaAllah…

    Love your Khimar style. So modest and covered mashaAllah!

    Love you for the Sake of Allah! Keep your beautiful blog running inshaAllah!

  10. This is so very lovely mashaAllah jazakAllahu Khairun for sharing the sketch and details… I’ve coveted a hijab like this for a while, and now I can make one for myself inshaAllah❤🙂

  11. Pingback: Spring Make Up « Itto's Living Faith

  12. As salamu alaykoum Itto,
    mashallah- ein sehr schöner Bericht.Ich liebe auch Khimar und würde ihn gerne tragen, da ich aber in Deutschland lebe, ist das leider nur schwer möglich.Ich trage Abaya und Schalkopftuch und das alleine reicht schon für die Menschen hier in unserer kleinen Stadt mich anzufeinden und als Mensch 3. Klasse zu behandeln.Subhanallah.Mit der Schwierigkeit kommt inshallah auch die Erleichterung.Ich hoffe und bete nächstes Jahr inshallah Hijrah nach Algerien machen zu können.
    Dein Blog ist sehr schön mashallah.Möge Allah dich inshallah dafür belohnen.
    wa alaykoum salam, Sabiha

  13. Salaam Itto, I just re read this partly in my own search. Where you write about living in Germany and having the yearning…is where I am just now but i just can’t see how I will get the inner strength to wear hijab when I live where I do -it is a big inward battle. Inshallah it will come to me. I am so grateful for having your blog to tap in to and give me courage. I pray your pregnancy is going well and wish you sincere duas x

Leave your thoughts!

