a Doll … in Progress

  
  

I’m in the midst of a very satisfaction work: making a Waldorf inspired doll for my baby girl. I’ve never thought that making such a thing could bring me so much joy, mashaallah.
so for today I wanna leave you with these lovely  helpful  inspirations concerning dolls,  wishing you a blessed weekend!

P.S.: even after searching the internet and reading this and that, I am still not sure if doll-making in Waldorf style really is halal and what are the limits to that creating act. So please sisters, if you have any further information about the Islamic rulings please let me know. Barak Allahu fikum.

8 thoughts on “a Doll … in Progress

  1. I’m pretty sure sayyidah Aisha May Allah grant her peace used to play with dolls when she was a little girl, I believe she was even married to the beloved (peace and blessings be unto him) around the time she was playing with dolls.

  2. mashaAllah I’d also like to make a waldorf doll for my daughter someday.. I look forward to what you find out regarding Islamic rulings🙂

  3. Assala mu alaykum,

    As far as I know, it’s fine to make the doll like a ragdoll but it shouldnt have eyes. there is a sis who makes and sells them..i cant recall her webpage right now.

  4. Assalamu alikum wa rahmatullah,

    Masha’Allah, Itto, you’re correct in taking the good that non-Muslims have to offer, but leaving what is not good for our eman and deen; jazakallahu khairan. Here’s a hadith regarding dolls. So, they can be played with before puberty and without faces on them, subhana’Allah.

    I enjoy your blog and, please tell us, what will you use the dyed wool for? I spin and weave and knit a little myself and am planning on dying soon, insha’Alalh.

    Bukhari :: Book 8 :: Volume 73 :: Hadith 151

    Narrated ‘Aisha:

    I used to play with the dolls in the presence of the Prophet, and my girl friends also used to play with me. When Allah’s Apostle used to enter (my dwelling place) they used to hide themselves, but the Prophet would call them to join and play with me. (The playing with the dolls and similar images is forbidden, but it was allowed for ‘Aisha at that time, as she was a little girl, not yet reached the age of puberty.) (Fateh-al-Bari page 143, Vol.13)

  5. AA Itto,
    I am aware of the hadith stated by sisters..but there is another opinion that eyes etc are allowed although don’t have the proof of this right now as I am traveling and don’t have acess to sources. A dear sister made a doll similiar to the one that you are making for my dd and it was one of her favorites. Anything hamemade by mom is always something for a child to treasure.

  6. Hi Itto…

    I think that the dolls are precious, and hope that you find peace in allowing your little ones to play with them. (I know you will follow your faith and do your best in applying it as you understand it. I respect that!)

    I did follow the links – and thought that the reasoning regarding teaching girls to mother made very good sense. I think that at below a certain age, they can be good for boys to learn gentleness too. We want our sons to be good daddies, after all.

Leave your thoughts!

