Old New Clothes – The Repurposing Post

  
  
  

Living in midst of the High Atlas Mountains means living far away from shopping malls and fashion boutiques. When we need new clothes, we either have to travel to the next little town which is a 2 hours drive away and has only a poor selection of china-acrylic-stuff, or we must go to Marrakech on a 5 hours drive. So most of our clothes I buy once a year when I am back in Germany or I put them on my wish-list and let them bring by friends.

But since I am really into repurposing now as well as in a real sewing-flow and also a bit short on money, I decided to hand make the clothes our baby-girl actually needed.

We already had a few shirts and trousers from the boys that were still good yet too boyish for the girl. I decided to give them a more feminine outlook by adding some appliqué in lovely heart, star, bird and flower shapes which I cut out of old shirts of mine and sewed on the clothes.

While doing so, I got the idea to turn some of my tank tops I never wore into little girl-dresses to be worn as a layer-look over trousers and shirts.
I simply laid a dress she already owns on the top of the top, in a place where I could use most of the existing seams, and then marked with a pen the shape of the dress around the edges (plus seam allowance). Then I cut around the marked line. I took the front side and added some appliqué, then pinned both right sides together and sewed along. Some hems I sewed, some I left raw. That’s all; really easy and quickly done, alhamdulillah.

Baby has now a beautiful new (old) wardrobe with a personal girly note and I have found a new hobby: Repurposing wherever possible!

So I am opening a new category here, based on a mindful, green, self-sufficient, sustainable, natural-living-choice, to make my personal statement against the consumerism in our modern world, to cherish God’s gifts and to follow our dear prophet Muhammad’s (sws) example who always mended his old clothes himself.
 
Off to more recycling… oh there are so many ideas coming to my head to repurpose old fabric, paper, food and house ware… will you join me on that journey of a gentle way of living?

Happy week, friends!

Comments to my last post are still opened until mid-week. So if you want to win the little giveaway, please leave a comment!

10 thoughts on “Old New Clothes – The Repurposing Post

  1. Peace be unto you sister Itto,
    ahhhh sewing, the only sewing that I am able to do is mend torn clothes:( I admire those who are able to do more than patch a hole! LOL. Nevertheless, I will want to learn and learn I will. At the moment my priorities are homeschooling my 3 small children and extra attention for my 8mths old. God willing, I’ll be able to do more soon:) Even you have extra money, sister Itto, I think you should not splurge on over price “made in China” toddler’s clothes. Handmade is always the best! BTW, forgive me for asking this question, do you accept gentle used clothes? I have a few nice pieces I store away. My girl who is now 5 used them only a few times.

  2. I admire your resourcefulness and I love the results! You created sweet and original clothes for your little girl. You inspire me to try a bit harder in this area–I am good at repurposing all the bits of paper in our house, but not so good at reconfiguring clothes.

  3. Oh Itto, je suis contente de lire ce post ! J’aime beaucoup ton petit recyclage et ta petite va être très élégante ! Je suis moi même dans ce chemin, j’appelle ça le 3R Réduire, Réutiliser, Recycler…

    Belle journée !

    Sonia

  4. Liebe Itto,
    das ist eine glänzende Idee! Die Strickjacke mit dem Vögelchen drauf ist ja ganz süß! Sehr gut gelungen. Langsam wächst Junis wieder aus einer Größer raus – ich finde es auch immer schade, die Sachen zur Seite zu packen (Weggeben kommt nicht infrage, ich möchte auf jeden Fall noch ein Kind), die er nur ein paar Monate getragen hat. Im Nähen bin ich nicht so gut, zumindest habe ich es noch nicht ausprobiert. Aber ich versuche, nicht so viele Sachen zu kaufen, sondern die Pullis und Hosen zu tragen, die er hat.
    Wenn man, wie ich, in einer Großstadt wohnt und dem Konsum täglich begegnet fällt es manchmal schwer, sich zurück zu halten und die wichtigen Dinge nicht aus den Augen zu verlieren.
    Dein Blog hilft mir dabei, den Blick gerade zu rücken.

    Liebe Grüße
    Steffi

  5. Liebe Itto,
    ich habe damals für meine Kinder und für mich selbst immer aus alten Kleidern vom Brockenhaus “neue” Kleider genäht … wie schön, dass du das auch machst!
    Manchmal ist es geradezu ein Segen, wenn man eher knapp an Geld ist und die Modehäuser nicht einfach so um die Ecke stehen, nicht wahr? Es ist doch wirklich sehr kreativ, als alten Sachen neue zu machen!
    Also, mich freut deine “kreative Ader” sehr…
    Herzliche Grüsse,
    Katarina

  6. Pingback: Spring Make Up « Itto's Living Faith

  7. I don’t know if it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing problems with
    your website. It looks like some of the written text on your posts are
    running off the screen. Can someone else please
    comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This may be a issue with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously.

    Cheers

Leave your thoughts!

