Simply breakfast and a Poem

breakfast-spiegelei

I Took His Hand and Followed
by Roy L. Peifer

 

My dishes went unwashed today; I didn’t make the bed,

I took his hand and followed where his eager footsteps led.

Oh yes, we went adventuring, My little son and I…

Exploring all the great outdoors beneath the summer sky

 

We waded in a crystal stream; we wandered through a wood…

My kitchen wasn’t swept today, but life was gay and good.

 

We found a cool, sun-dappled glade and now my small son knows

How Mother Bunny hides her nest, where jack-in-the-pulpit grows.

 

We watched a robin feed her young; we climbed a sunlit hill…

Saw cloud-sheep scamper through the sky, we plucked a daffodil.

 

That my house was neglected, that I didn’t brush the stairs,

In twenty years, no one on earth will know, or even care.

 

But that I’ve helped my little boy to noble manhood grow,

In twenty years, the whole wide world may look and see and know.

 

 

I’ve posted this poem already last year on my old blog, but still love it so much…
Source: http://www.besthomeschooling.org/articles/child_poem.html

2 thoughts on “Simply breakfast and a Poem

  1. Thank you , thank you , thank you…just what i needed at the start of our 2 weeks holidays at home…After all I don’t want my daughter to look back and think of me as the mama that spend their holidays washing , cleaning, dusting….So I’m off with my daughters to buy lots of arty stuff and an adventure. Thanks for sharing sis. Take care. Love you.

  2. Salut Itto,

    Ce poême est très juste.

    Il faut savoir lever le pied de temps en temps.
    Je dis souvent que si nous ne faisons pas le ménage aujourd’hui, personne ne le fera à notre place et il sera toujours là et à faire demain…

    Il faut savoir profiter des enfants, ils grandissent si vite!
    Merci d’avoir partagé ce poême avec nous.

    Bonne semaine
    Stéphanie

Leave your thoughts!

